Sumi X Tests her Beliefs on New Single “Protégé”


Sumi X is a Los Angeles based pop artist riding high on a wave of momentum from her debut release last spring entitled “Electric Baby” and her most recent summer single “Stay With Me”. Her newly unveiled track “Protégé” is a temptation-laced, darkly euphoric pop banger written about placing faith in questionable people or beliefs. 

“Protégé” will entrance you with symphonic strikes of violin, choppy beats that captivate the ear, and a withdrawn vocal that is just out of reach, to the point that it draws you further in. The single discusses the hyper-saturated world we live and how it is difficult to discern right from wrong when we’re surrounded by stimulation. Sumi X sings, “Let me be your protégé / Teach me all the magic of your ways.” “Protégé” draws to mind the ancient idea of false idols and repurposes the intense imagery for a whole new generation. 

Revealing more on her track, Sumi X admits, “All of us are searching in life, for something – or someone – to believe in. That’s what “Protégé” is about. Sometimes we worship false idols and put people or things on a pedestal when we shouldn’t. I think that’s all part of the process in search of truth.”

Sumi X made the jump to Los Angeles in 2021. Since then, she’s vigorously pursued her childhood dream of becoming a singer-songwriter and now has three singles under her belt. “Protégé” is her latest release. 

Keep Up With Sumi X: Instagram /TikTok

Leave a Reply

Share post:

More from Author

More like this

David Kushner announces debut album ‘The Dichotomy’ out Aug. 30 and North American tour

Emerging artist and TikTok singer David Kushner has announced...

Brother. and Goldmyth Stand By Their Loved Ones On New Song “LOSTANDFOUND”

Hailing from Provo, Utah, bandmates Chuck Emery, Erika Goodwin,...

Estella Dawn Confronts a Breakup In New Song “514 Denim”

Known for her confidence and passionate delivery, Estella Dawn...

Gracie Abrams learns that ‘The Secret of Us’ isn’t always hers to keep

Recommended Tracks: “Blowing Smoke”, “I Love You, I’m Sorry”,...