ALBUM REVIEW: Super American // Tequila Sunrise


Release date: Friday, September 14th via Take This To Heart Records
For fans of: Oasis, A Will Away, Safe Bet

Buffalo, New York indie/pop-rock duo Super American are set to release their debut full-length album, Tequila Sunrise, on September 14th: 13 tracks that encompass  the band’s blend of indie and emo, catchy instrumental melodies, and pop-punk style lyricism. In anticipation to the release, the band has released four singles – Hands Down Olivia, Coconut Shrimp, Givin It Up, and Chris From Walmart – as well as a music video for Hands Down Olivia.

Tequila Sunrise is dripping in nostalgia – Super American give off a very early decades vibe that’s heartfelt and “could easily be ripped from the soundtrack of a late 90’s/early 2000’s romantic comedy”. The songs gain a new dynamic with vocalists Pat Feely and Matt Cox passing lyrics back and forth.

Standout tracks include “Commitment Issues”, one of the slower-paced songs on the album that doesn’t get buried in the mix. “Chris From Walmart” provides some comedic relief, and “Baby Blue” and “Date (You Got Blisters)” have an infectious feel good sound that Super American are known for. Make sure to give the rest of the album a listen when it drops on the 14th!

Listen to Super American on Spotify
Follow Super American: Instagram // Twitter 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this

Etham observes the ties, or patterns, that bind on ‘Patterns’

Recommended Tracks: “Patterns,” “Know Me Yet,” “Guilty” Artists You may...

halfnoise pays tribute to those long, captivating nights out with ‘City Talk’

Recommended Tracks: “Baby,” “On My Way,” “Only You” Artists You...

Australia’s Most Streamed Jazz Artist: Connie Lansberg’s “Alone With Bees” Album Release

Connie Lansberg is an accomplished Australian jazz singer-songwriter, based...

EMPulsive Exploration: A Sonic Journey Through EMP’s Eclectic EP

Texas instrumental band EMP are Alex Erhardt, Nathan Mays,...