Kojaque announces debut album ‘Town’s Dead,’ releases title track


The past few years have been a work in progress for Irish rapper and producer Kojaque.  The experimental artist has achieved one milestone after the other, such as touring with Lana Del Ray, performing at Glastonbury, and co-founding a record label to better promote creative artists with distinct sounds.  There is no doubt that Kojaque has worked hard to make his presence known in the music world, and now he is about to make things extra official with the release of his debut album, Town’s Dead.

Between the tour bus and his bedroom, Kojaque pieced together his thoughts and experiences from the past six years to create Town’s Dead.  The 16-track album centers on the concept of New Year’s Eve in his hometown of Dublin, where Kojaque confronts demons, both inside and out.  About the album, Kojaque revealed, “Town’s Dead comes from the potential that I see in Dublin and in the people I’m surrounded by day in and day out.  There’s nothing but talent and ambition among young people; I’m constantly reminded of that through the art and music that I see being made, but I think so often the city grinds you down, it takes your hope and your ambition.”  You can check out the track list below.

  1. Heartbreak
  2. New Year, Who’s This (Interlude)
  3. Town’s Dead
  4. Wicked Tongues
  5. Shmelly
  6. That Deep
  7. Black Sheep Part I
  8. Rover
  9. Jinty Boy Blues
  10. No Hands
  11. Part II
  12. Sex N’ Drugs ft. Celia Tiab
  13. Fallin For It
  14. Coming Up
  15. Casio ft. Maverick Sabre
  16. Curtains

Along with the announcement of Town’s Dead, Kojaque has released the album’s title track.  Containing elements of hip-hop, jazz, and alt-rock, “Town’s Dead” acquaints you with the hustle and bustle that Kojaque experiences on a daily basis.  The rapper ruminates on the eclectic people and places around him and how they all seem to hold him, as well as other creatives in Ireland, back.  He is ready for change and declares, “My town’s not dead, it’s just dormant!”

You can listen to “Town’s Dead” on platforms like Apple Music and Spotify.

Be sure to also pre-order Town’s Dead, out June 25, 2021, here.

Keep up with Kojaque:  Twitter // Instagram // Facebook // Website


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this

Vilhelm Buchaus Breaks Hearts With “Together”

Drawing inspiration from the likes of Ed Sheeran, The...

Weekly Roundup: Dec 4

Every Monday, we bring you a playlist filled with...

7evin7ins makes a statement on “Gun Shy”

7evin7ins is making a statement. On "Gun Shy", a...

Joey Burbach and Abstract reflects on 2023 in new single “Try Again Next Year”

Joey Burbach and Abstract emerge as two independent artists...